Addi Express help


I know it has been a while but I have been super busy getting ready for the fall craft shows in my area. I did however do some searching online for help with my addi machine. I came across a video that tells us to grease your addi machine. Now I have put another post earlier about the silicone spray (jigaloo) for it but I was not happy with the performance of it so I took my machine apart again and washed every needle and casing. That was a royal pain in the butt but I figured.. hey why not try this next fix. She had a video saying what she used but not how to do it so as I was greasing my machine this morning I decided to take some pictures as I was going along. 

I went to the local hardware store and bouth some white lithium grease by Permatex. I read on the label that it was safe for just about anything so I figured.. yup.. good to go.

IMG_0919

I started by removing the outer black ring that was holding the red plastic ring in place. I gently removed the red ring that holds the needles securely in place.. phew.. ok that was easy

IMG_0922     IMG_0924

Once I got the black inner ring off ever so gently I then started putting the white grease on each side of every needle. Just a squirt (there is no need to put a lot as this little dab goes a long way.

IMG_0903    IMG_0901

After I finished with all of the needles on the bottom it was suggested that a bit of grease be put at the top of the needle as well. At this point why not!  I was fully committed to greasing this machine as I was tired of all the noise it was making when I knit.

IMG_0906

At this point I was done greasing the inside of the machine and was ready to put it back together. 

Again , carefully fit the black inner ring back over the needles making sure you line up the indent for the counter rows. You will understand that part as seriously it will not screw down until you line everything up the way it should be. At this point look to see if any seepage is happening around the joins and carefully wipe it off with a soft cloth so the grease does not get on your yarn.

IMG_0907

Now carefully line up the red ring so the #1 slot fits over the first black needle. This takes a bit of gentle movement as you slip the red ring over the needles. Be careful not to force anything because after all the needles are plastic and will break if treated roughly. 

IMG_0910     IMG_0911

crank the handle and let it go around a couple of times without any yarn on the needles. At this point look for any splatter of grease and wipe it off. I used a Qtip and a soft cloth from this point on. 

IMG_0912      IMG_0913

Now is the time to put some yarn on the machine but only scrap yarn! Knit around 30 rows. You will notice that the grease is coming out on the yarn. hence that is why you use the scrap yarn that you can toss away when you are done.

IMG_0918

keep working to remove the excess grease as you knit the 30 rows. 

Now remove the scrap work off your machine and toss it away. Once it is off you will see some excess grease. Don’t worry, just wipe it off and you are DONE!…

Now the lady said that sometimes she uses Bond Knit easy spray  for the top of the needles for extra lubrication, but I cannot find it here in Canada so at this point my machine is done and ready to work. 

Thanks to Suzy Notting and Jack for giving us the video explaining how she greased her machine

Here is her link for her YOUTUBE video

greasing an addi machine

So I am off to make a few more hats for the upcoming shows.

2 thoughts on “Addi Express help

Leave a Reply

