New Hat Collection for 2013


2013 hats

I am back in production mode. I have started my new collection of hats for the 2013 Fall Craft Shows. I am still in the process of trying new designs and deciding whether or not I actually like the pattern and if it will work with what I am trying to sell for next year. Looking and planning so far in advance is always a challenge as you never know until sometime in September what people will be actually looking for in the way of accessories. The color choices are even more of a challenge. I listen to the fashion reports to find out what colours are will be popular this year but that doesn’t always hold true in this area of the world. So Basically I get yarn, pile it in a corner in my room and away I go. I did the purple cloche but I am not sure if I like the thickness that it calls for in the pattern.

Purple Cloche Purple Cloche

I might try  the same pattern but only make it DK worsted weight.

As for the other hats I really like the Newfoundland Salt and Pepper design

Harry Hibbs/Newfoundland Hat Newfoundland/Harry Hibbs Hat

I made it my mission to find this pattern. My mother used to make these many moons ago. I tried everywhere to find the pattern that most resembled my mother’s Pattern. Well after hours of looking online I finally turned to Facebook with a plea. It only took me 1/2 hour to find the pattern once my post went out. AND!!!!  it was my mother’s original pattern that she had given to her friend once she could not knit anymore.. How cool was that!!!!.. My sister picked it up and mailed to me. I scanned it and I plan to put the original in a frame and hang it on my studio wall.

I have also started to do the Angry bird hats although I cannot list them anywhere as the Rovio corporation has contacted me through Etsy and demanded that I remove them as it was an infringement on their copyright.. oh FINE.. I will just sell them at shows and take special orders. geeze. My one or two hats I make are certainly not going to dip into their big profits.

I have started posting my pictures on Photobucket.com and here is the link to my Knitwear for this year.

True North Knitting Photobucket Pictures

So my journey continues. I am always surfing for new ideas and I am always willing to make anything you suggest. I love trying new patterns and designing as I go.

Feel free to comment and make suggestions. What is popular in your area? What colours do people look for?

12 thoughts on “New Hat Collection for 2013

  1. Hi. I am live in Newfoundland. I have been knitting for about 4 years now. I have knit the baby salt and pepper hat but i cant seem to find the perfect pattern for the adult salt and pepper hat. i was wondering if you would be willing to share your pattern. I actually have a lady in Ontario that wants one knit. You should also try the trigger finger mitts they were very popular one time.

  2. My mother just called me and said she wanted to knit one for her brother. Her pattern is old and worn so part of it is missing. Is there any way I could get a copy of this pattern as well?

Leave a Reply

